Observed Diversity

12 Feb

As I’ve mentioned before, my class is very diverse.  I have students from multiple different cultural backgrounds.  This makes my class a very exciting place to be because the students love to share their opinions and experiences about various things.  Because there are so many cultural backgrounds present, the students get to experience a lot of different viewpoints.  Most of my students take a lot of pride in their culture, and it is something that I am genuinely interested to hear about, so they love educating me about different things.  I think because the school, and the entire Beacon Hill area, is very diverse the students have been surrounded by peers that are different from themselves their entire life.  Because they are so comfortable and accepting of it, it only enhances their school experience.

Religiously, my students are also diverse but less so than culturally—the majority of students fall into three religious groups.  Most of my students are Muslim, Christian, or religiously apathetic.  Most of my students come from families that are not religiously inclined one way or another so I don’t really feel that they can be categorized into a specific group.  I think the next largest religious group in my class is Muslim.  I have quite a few girls who cover and I know a lot of the boys are from Muslim families as well.  Again, I don’t feel like this is difficult for students to accept the differences of their classmates because it is so commonplace in the school.  The students are used to having students who practice different religions and they just accept it.  Sometimes they talk about it or ask questions but it is always from a place of curiosity rather than prejudice.

Leave a comment