Religious Diversity Approach

19 Feb

As an educator, I think that my personal response to the issues surrounding religious diversity is an attitude that promotes conversation.  I would like for my students to feel comfortable raising questions about religion and diversity in my classroom because they know that they will be able to express their questions and beliefs freely in an accepting environment.  I want my students to be able to voice questions and ideas about traditionally taboo topics because I truly believe such conversations, if held in a safe environment, can only improve students’ awareness of diversity.  Also, by allowing such conversations to occur, I feel that my students will grow in their own convections and beliefs.  I think I will allow a pretty wide range of dialogue and questioning to occur in my classroom as long as it is respectful for all students and the entire class does not feel uneasy about the nature of the conversation.  I think if I can impress upon my students that our classroom is family, and intentionally create an environment, that conveys this we will be able to tackle difficult and controversial issues with grace and love.

Personally I feel that my own religious convections do not have a place in the classroom—I should, to paraphrase Tali, let the light shine through me without shouting “Jesus, Christianity, Jesus” at my students.  My faith should be so evident in the way I treat, respect, and love them that verbal proclamation of the gospel won’t be necessary.

In my current practicum school, there is extreme religious diversity. And I know I am going to mess up (because I don’t know everything about every religion present), but if I approach situations with a genuine desire to learn about the different components that make my students unique and truly value those differences I think my students will forgive me for any mistakes I may make.  I think having a relationship with students makes all the difference in the world.  A relationship allows you to dialogue and explore together, which is beneficial for both participants and it allows for some really amazing growth to occur.

In the future, regardless of the type of school I work at, I want to create an environment that encourages honest conversation about religious diversity.  Even if I teach in a classroom that has a lack of religious diversity I think conversation about religious issues would still be incredibly beneficial for those students as well. Creating a safe environment that allows students to think and develop their own convections is something I think is really important.  I’m going to do my best to make this possible if I am teaching at a school like the one I am at now or one that is completely different.

Engaging with students in conversations about religion and culture from a place of genuine interest has helped me deepen relationships.

Leave a comment